

Published on The Estonian Supreme Court (https://www.riigikohus.ee)

Home > Estonian Court System > District Courts

District courts

District courts [1] are the courts of first instance and hear all civil, criminal and misdemeanour matters. There are four district courts in Estonia which divide into courthouses.

In the composition of district courts are land registries, registry departments and probation supervision departments. A land register and marital property register shall be maintained in a land registry department. The registration department maintains a commercial register concerning undertakings within the territorial jurisdiction of the registration department and a non-profit associations and foundations register concerning non-profit associations and foundations within the territorial jurisdiction of the registration departments. Probation supervision duties.

District courts:

- Harju district court: Tallinn courthouse
- Viru district court: Jõhvi courthouse, Narva courthouse and Rakvere courthouse
- **Pärnu district court**: Pärnu courthouse, Haapsalu courthouse, Kuressaare courthouse, Rapla courthouse and Paide courthouse
- **Tartu district court**: Tartu courthouse, Jõgeva courthouse, Viljandi courthouse, Valga courthouse and Võru courthouse

Source URL: https://www.riigikohus.ee/en/estonian-court-system/district-courts

Links

[1] https://www.kohus.ee/en/estonian-courts/estonian-court-system/district-courts